Lemon Loaf Recipe

OK I know it says ‘healthy’ in the URL and this is ever so slightly cheating, but I made my first ever lemon loaf last weekend and it was a complete hit with the girls (and even I was impressed with myself) so I thought i’d share the recipe. Plus, it’s Friday, so cake is OK right? & there’s lemons? So technically it’s fruit?

What Will I Need?

For the cake:
– Loaf Tin
– 220ml of Olive Oil
– 4 Eggs
– 230g of Caster Sugar
– 225g of Self-Raising Flour
– 1 Lemon

For the drizzle:
– 
1 Lemon
– 60g of Caster Sugar

What Do I Do?

Pre-heat your oven to 180c. Mix your oil and sugar into a bowl until creamy, then add your eggs slowly as you stir. Once finely mixed, sift in your flour. Chop your lemon in half and one side at a time squeeze the juice into the bowl, then finely grate a bit of zest from the leftover skin. Mix all these ingredients together, then pour the mixture into the tin making sure it sits around 1cm from the top and is flat. Obviously using grease proof paper is better but unfortunately I didn’t have any, so I used a small bit of butter to rub along the tin & topped with a light dusting of flour to prevent sticking. Bake in the center of the oven for around 50 minutes. I’d recommend checking from 40 onward, and as soon as your knife goes in and comes out clean it’s ready. Leave on the side to cool.

As your loaf is cooling, it’s time to make the drizzle. Although there is a guideline above to measurements, I just sort of winged it. I added the juice of 1 whole lemon, and slowly added the sugar until it was eventually at the consistency (and sweetness) that I liked.

Once your cake is cooled and drizzle made, use a skewer (or on my case a really big knife) to prick the cake all over. I took the cake out of the tin for this, and did it on a plate as I was worried the longer it was in there the higher the risk of sticking! I put the knife in until it was around a cm from the bottom of the cake so the juice went all the way through. Slowly spoon the mixture over the cake (quantity dependent on your preference) and leave to set. Once mine had set, I squeezed the sides of the load ever so slightly so that the hardened sugar drizzle could crack slightly on the top making it crispy & delicious!

Enjoy & Happy Friday! 🙂

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

