Choc Chip Banana & Oat Muffins

I have the biggest sweet tooth known to man. For real. I could probably inhale 73 Galaxy Bars within a matter of seconds, no joke. My biggest struggle is trying to curb that and keep my processed sugar intake low as chocolate and I have had a life long love affair & it’s hard for me to leave her. I’ve found that the best way to do this is one step at a time. I’ve tried the whole ‘cutting it out completely without giving my body a warning to prepare’ thing but that ended up with me doing the ‘moody and shouting at my boyfriend for no reason until he chucks chocolate at me from afar like a wild animal thing’ – not good

I’ve always loved bananas, and anything cake related so one night I thought why not experiment with a couple of different recipes? And here we are…

What do I need?
– 5 heaped tbsp of coconut oil (or around half a cup) melted
– 1/2 cup of syrup
– 3 large ripe bananas
– 2 eggs
– 150ml of milk (I used alpro almond milk)
– 2 tsp of vanilla extract
– 1 tsp of baking soda
– Cup & half of flour (I used whole wheat)
– Cup of oats
– Dash of salt
– Brown sugar for topping

How do I do it?
This recipe for me made around 15 medium sized buns, with some mixture left over to refrigerate so have the cases or your tins greased ready to go. OK so… Firstly start by preheating your oven to 165 degrees Celsius – for baking I think this needs to go on a good half hour before use. After you’ve melted the coconut oil, add this to a large bowl along with the honey & eggs – then mix well

FullSizeRender

After this you need to mash your bananas. Now, if like me you don’t mind getting your hands dirty I always find that mashing these up by hand works really well (either with gloves or extremely clean hands of course), and then finish mashing the final lumps with a fork. Add the mashed banana to the bowl with the milk, vanilla extract, salt & baking soda. After you have mixed well, add the flour & the oats and carefully fold all ingredients together to create a deliciously gooey texture. This is where you add your fun bits! I added a generous helping of organic dark chocolate chips to the mix, but more delicious ingredients are blueberries, nuts, chia seeds etc

FullSizeRender[1]

Once you have mixed all the ingredients together you will need to separate the mix out across all of your cases/tray cups, then sprinkle the tops with oats & sugar

FullSizeRender[2].jpg

Put these in the oven for around 15-20 minutes, or until you can place a knife in and remove with no mix on the end. Leave these to cool on a tray for 15 minutes

These are great as breakfast muffins, dessert and especially served with a dollop of almond butter! I’d love to make these totally vegan – any suggestions for egg replacements? 🙂

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Choc Chip Banana & Oat Muffins

  1. Pingback: Tips To Curb Sugar Cravings | namastayhealthy

Leave a Reply

